# Gateway All-Decade Team Highlights 10th Year • August 1994

In August of 1994, the Gateway Football Conference announced an All-Decade Team to help kick off its 10th year.

The University of Northern Iowa, which won or shared seven Gateway titles in the league's initial ten seasons, has the most players of any school with 11 of the 51 honorees. Several of UNI's honorees played in the National Football League, while LB Andre Allen, the 1993 and 1994 Gateway Defensive Player of the Year, joined Indiana State RB David Wright as the only then-active players named to the All-Decade squad.

National Football League All-Pro linebacker Bryan Cox (Western Illinois) was named the league's Defensive Player of the Decade, while two-time Gateway Player of the Year QB DeAndre Smith (SMS) earned Offensive Player of the Decade plaudits. Cox has played for a handful of NFL teams, earning all-Pro honors with the Dolphins and a Super Bowl ring with the Patriots. Smith, meanwhile, is the only quarterback in Gateway history to win league offensive player of the year honors two times. He currently ranks among the league's top 15 career rushers and is the only quarterback among that list. He ended his career with 2,138 rushing yards and 36 rushing touchdowns. His 36 scores are an all-time best among league quarterbacks.

Several of the players selected were record-holders at their respective positions. One of the most decorated Gateway players ever, Illinois State's Toby Davis finished his career in 1992 as the league record holder for rushing yards in a game, in a season and in a career. And at that time, he was also the league record holder for rushing touchdowns in a game, season and career. Plus, he owned the league mark for rushing attempts in a season, total touchdowns in a season and touchdowns in a career.

Davis is just one of the 20 first-team All-Americans represented on the



SMS QB DeAndre Smith had 36 career rushing TDs and is the only QB in league history with more than 2,000 career rushing yards.

Gateway All-Decade team. Two of the Gateway's all-time stars were twice named to the Associated Press first-team All-America team, which is perhaps the most coveted of the national awards. The Gateway's two-time first-team AP All-Americans include placekicker Brian Mitchell of UNI and defensive lineman John Jurkovic of Eastern Illinois.

The All-Decade team was selected by Gateway coaches, sports information directors and a media panel. Ten of the 51 honorees attended the 1994 Gateway Media Day at the St. Louis Stouffer Concourse Hotel and accepted their individual awards. Each institution received a plaque at Media Day honoring their members selected to the squad.

# **All-Decade Team**

#### **FIRST TEAM**

OFFENSE				
QB	DeAndre Smith, SMS	1987-90		
RB	Toby Davis, ILS	1989-92		
	Derrick Franklin, INS	1989-91		
TE	Chris Nuss, UNI	1989-92		
WR	Roy Banks, EIU	1985-86		
	Kenny Shedd, UNI	1989-92		
OC	Frank Winters, WIU	1985-86		
OL	Mark Christensen, SMS	1986-89		
	Brad Fichtel, EIU	1989-92		
	Shawn Moore, INS	1990-93		
	Mike Simmonds, INS	1986		
PK	Brian Mitchell LIMI	1020-01		

#### DEFENSE

DEFENSE				
DL	James Jones, UNI	1987-90		
	John Jurkovic, EIU	'85-86, 88-89		
	John Kropke, ILS	1985-87		
	Bill Walter, SMS	1988-91		
LB	Wilbert Brown, ILS	1988-91		
	William Freeney, UNI	1990-92		
	Bryce Paup, UNI	1986-89		
DB	Bryan Cox, WIU	1987-90		
	Rodney Harrison, WIU	1991-93		
	Tim Lance, EIU	1987-90		
	Adrion Smith, SMS	1990-93		
P	Tim Mosley, UNI	1990-93		
RS	Kenny Shedd, UNI	1989-92		

### HONORABLE MENTION

# OFFENSE

QB	Sean Payton, EIU	1985-86
	Paul Singer, WIU	1985-88
RB	Carl Boyd, UNI	1985-87
	Jamie Jones, EIU	1988-91
	David Wright, INS	1992-95
TE	Rodney Porter, INS	1986-89
WR	Demeris Johnson, WIU	1991-92
	Billy Swain, SIU	1990-93
	Charles Swann, INS	1989-91
OC	Mark Hanssen, UNI	1985-87
OL	Keith Blue, WIU	1985-87
	Matt Irvin, SMS	1989-92
	Dave Popp, EIU	1985-88
	Mike Strickland, SIU	1990-93
PK	Paul Politi, ILS	1985-86

# **DEFENSE**

DL	Todd Auer, WIU	1985-86
	Clint Cullen, ILS	1990-93
	Michael Fox, SMS	1989-90
	Marlin Williams, WIU	1987-88
LB	Andre Allen, UNI	1991-94
	Brian Gant, ILS	1985-86
	Matt Soraghan, SMS	1985-87
DB	Willie Beamon, UNI	'89-90, 92
	Daryl Holcombe, EIU	1986-89
	Marcus Shipp, SMS	1989-91
	Jeff Smith, ILS	1985-88
P	Mike Krause, WIU	1986-89
RS	Charles Swann, INS	1989-91

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE DECADE

DeAndre Smith. SMS

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE DECADE Bryan Cox, Western Illinois